top of page

Sunday Funday

HAPPY SUNDAY FUNDAY!! That may mean a variety of things for everyone; cleaning, river days drinking, grocery shopping… the list goes on. But for Cierra and I, we have always use Sunday’s for a gym day. Well, actually, we try and make every day a gym day.. but on Sundays we focus on having fun at the gym! (As fun as a gym can be). The two of us have always focused on fitness together. I remember when I did not go out for track Senior year, but she did, that is when I actually got serious about fitness and being healthy. After Senior year, Cierra wanted a break from the gym (understandable… she was in sports basically her entire high school career). But after a few months off, I remember her coming to me for fitness advice ( I felt so honored ;)) Ever since then we have continued out fitness journey together, even when 2,000 miles apart. We have sent each other tips, tagged each other in outrageous work out videos on Insta, and we send each other our before/afters (because BFFs make you feel so great about yourself). Today we both want to share just a few tips that have helped us along the way!

**By no means do we think we are personal trainers or dieticians. But a lot of people ask us for tips, so we want to share them! This is not our exact workouts or even routines, just some tips to help you stay motivated and get you to your goal!

  • B: ALWAYS. WARM. UP. Literally cannot stress this enough. I used to blow this off.. I would just put on my Nikes and BOOM I was running. Then I would wonder why my body felt stiffer than a doornail. Now, before every single workout, I walk on the treadmill for at least five minutes at an incline. I usually never go faster than 3.6, so I am not really focusing on sweating, but just loosening up. I use this time to plan my workout (or scroll social media). After I warm up, I go and stretch out more. I just basically do the common stretches you did before any high sport: lunges, spilts, arm circles, etc. This is so important but so overlooked.

  • C: DRINK WATER. I drink water and green tea like a literal camel. I take a jug (picture the water jugs they give you at hospitals lol) full of ice water everywhere I go; to the mall, running errands, obviously the gym, and anywhere in between. Its hard to believe, but if you want to lose the water weight, you need more water. Just try it. *Peep it in the corner of Bree's selfie above lol!

  • C: Do what is best for your body. When I first started my fitness journey outside of high school sports I didn’t really know what to do, so I naturally went to what’s easiest - cardio. I would run on the treadmill and do the elliptical for about an hour a day at the gym. After a few months of this, and not seeing the results I wanted, I started getting into weight lifting. Soon, I started realizing what my body and mind were capable of. I said adios to cardio and strictly weight trained for about two years, and had a some what negative opinion with cardio lol. After moving to AZ and witnessing Bree kill sprints before our lifting sessions, I decided to start incorporating more cardio into my fitness regimen. I now do cardio every other day and lift about everyday. I have never been this lean in my whole life. I finally found what works best for my body and couldn’t be happier. Don’t be closed minded when in comes to the gym, the best thing you can do is get out of your comfort zone! Expirement with new things and find a routine that fits YOUR body and YOUR goals.

  • C: Have fun at the gym!! When you start taking the gym too seriously and punishing yourself for not going, you’re going to get yourself in a phunk. You’re going to become unmotivated because you’re going to feel like you HAVE to go the gym when you should WANT to go. I used to go through this often, where I would get so so angry at myself for skipping two days of the gym, to the point I would MAKE myself go at midnight when I got off work. In turn, I would have such a crappy workout, and become unmotivated for the next day. The gym should be a place of inner peace, and a place where you shouldn’t have to worry about school, work, money etc.. The only thing you should worry about at the gym is pushing yourself physically and mentally.

  • B: SWEAT!!!!! Seriously. Sweat. A couple months ago, I won a Sweet Sweat in an instagram contest hoested by @laura.annfit (follow her. Great motivation. And she’s also a momma). I waited awhile to use it because I have always been so skeptical about any sort of fitness product. Since I’ve started using it, I’ve seen amazing results! I get questions about it all the freaking time. And I recommend it to everyone! Even guys! Cierra has now bought one and she feels awesome using it. When I take it off, sweat legit falls off and puddles around me. It’s freaking awesome. It motivates me more because I always want to get more sweaty than last time ;) I also end EVERY workout with a sauna sesh! I love the sauna. I sit in there for 15-20 minutes (I don’t think I could last any longer) and I feel amazing when I walk out. I love going to the sauna after a Girls Night Out Weekend..leading me to my next point!***note. It is NOT a waist trainer. It JUST makes you sweat and lose that belly water weight. Check it out below.

  • B: Balance people, Balance. (If you know me, you know I cannot say this word lol). Balance is KEY to seeing results. I love the gym. I love working hard. I also love wings. And Angry Orchards. Last night I actually ate an entire frozen pizza to myself and drank half a 6 pack.. for no reason. It wasn’t a “cheat meal”. It was just a “wow this pizza looks bomb” meal. The beer was a necessity since the babies did not nap all day… :,) I did not regret it.. or feel the need to punish myself in the gym today. I simply wanted a pizza SO I ATE ONE. My friends and I love to go out for drinks weekends and we usually end up going through McDonalds after (Judge us all you want…. But I KNOW everyone has done this before!!) Plus we basically burn the calories by dancing the night away;) Everyone needs to realize that you just need to mix a little of the good with a little of the bad. Satisfy the hunger… otherwise you’re just going to binge!

  • C: Don’t be afraid to get ugly, and I mean ugly. When I go to the gym I am there for two things, to kick my own ass and kill my goals. I drip (I mean literally drip lol) in sweat to the point where I usually have “butt sweat” mid way down my thighs... I am not ashamed or embarrassed of getting so sweaty and looking so rough. I embrace it. While there are a few girls at the gym with full faces of makeup and hair down, (and you go gurl, do your thang) I’m there to push myself.

Below is us with our Sweet Sweats! They are life savors! I don't workout without mine.. otherwise I feel naked without it! I have an abnormally long torso, so mine does not cover so much of me.. but I still see results. You can look into getting one here! I highly recommend it!

Subscribe Via Email

Want Updates on My Blog?

  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Hello! Brianne, Bree, Mom, Fiance... any of those names work for me. Welcome to my journey of being a young mother to twins obsessed with fitness & traveling. Enjoy!

bottom of page